Regretting that last Facebook post? No worries, you can quickly delete whatever post you made on Facebook with the click of a few buttons. 

In this blog post, we’ll explain how to get rid of that post you no longer want on your page, along with some other tips and tricks you might find helpful. 

 

How to Delete a Post on Facebook

Facebook allows you to delete any content on Facebook that you created and posted yourself. To get started, follow these steps:

  • Open the Facebook app. 
  • Navigate to your profile by clicking the three horizontal line menu bar in the bottom right-hand corner, then tapping on “See your profile” at the top of the screen.
  • Find the post on your profile that you want to delete. 
  • Tap the three dots in the top right-hand corner of the post. 
  • Click “Move to trash” where the items in your trash will be deleted after 30 days. 

 

Facebook Menu

 

FB See Your Profile

 

Facebook Menu

 

Facebook Move to Trash

 

How to Delete a Post on Facebook on Desktop

The process to delete posts using desktop on Facebook is pretty much the same as using the app, but we’ll run through it just in case. 

  • Open facebook.com in your browser.
  • Log in to your Facebook account.
  • Click on your profile icon in the top right-hand corner, then click on your name to go directly to your page. 
  • Find the post on your profile that you want to delete. 
  • Tap the three dots in the top right-hand corner of the post. 
  • Click “Move to trash” where the items in your trash will be deleted after 30 days. 

FB Desktop Profile

FB Desktop Menu Dots

FB Desktop Move to Trash

 

How to Hide Posts Created by Others on Facebook 

With any social media app comes the ability for users to delete the content that they post. Of course, you’ll never have the option to delete another user’s content.

Fortunately, Facebook also allows you to hide posts created by others that you might not want to see. This doesn’t mean that the post will be deleted forever, it just means that it won’t show up on your timeline. Here’s how to get started on this: 

  • Open the Facebook app. 
  • Find the post on your profile that you want to hide. 
  • Tap the three dots in the top right-hand corner of the post. 
  • Click “Hide post.”

 

How to Hide Posts On Facebook from Certain People

If you really want to get a piece of content out onto Facebook, but only want certain people to see it, then you’re in luck. Facebook offers the option to pick which friends you want to be able to see the content that you post.

In other terms, it’s basically a private story, but for actual posts. 

To get started on picking who you want to see in your next post, follow these steps:

  • Open the Facebook app.
  • Click on the “What’s on your mind?” tab to get started on formulating your content to post. 
  • Write or pick out whatever you want to be included in the content. 
  • Click on the “Friends” tab that is located just below your name at the top of the screen. 
  • Choose from the following list of who you want to be able to see your post. 
  • Using the “Friends except…” option will allow you to pick out the users who you do not want to see your post. 
  • Using the “Specific friends” option will allow you to pick out the users who you want to be able to see your post. 

If you forget to do this before you hit the share button, that’s ok! You’re able to switch the settings of who can view your post even after you share it. Here’s how:

  • Open the Facebook app. 
  • Find the post on your profile or timeline that you want to adjust the settings of. 
  • Click on the three dots in the top right-hand corner of the screen.
  • Tap “Edit privacy.”
  • Choose from the following list of who you want to be able to see your post. 
  • Using the “Friends except…” option will allow you to pick out the users who you do not want to see your post. 
  • Using the “Specific friends” option will allow you to pick out the users who you want to be able to see your post. 

 

Conclusion 

Whatever the reason may be, we’ve likely all been at a certain point of wanting to delete a post on Facebook. We can extend our thanks to the delete button as it is what saves us at the end of the day!

Next time you’re bored, scroll through your profile to see if you want to get rid of anything on your profile that might not be of use to you anymore. Or, try hiding other people’s posts on your timeline next time they don’t sit right with you.

Pin It on Pinterest