Instagram has several features that you probably use mindlessly every day. But, the archive posts feature might be one you haven’t heard much about. 

We’ll explain everything you need to know about archiving posts and stories on Instagram, along with some other things that you can do with them. 

 

How to Archive Posts on Instagram

Instead of deleting a post off of your page forever, try archiving it next time instead. It’s essentially a way to hide posts from your account, while still being able to access them whenever you want. 

Look at your profile and see if there are any posts you want to archive. If there are, then follow these steps: 

  • Open the Instagram app.
  • Click on your profile icon in the bottom right-hand corner. 
  • Click on the post you want to archive. 
  • Tap the three dots in the top right-hand corner. 
  • Tap “Archive.”

 

IG Archive

 

You’ll notice the post automatically disappears from your profile and goes into your “Archived posts.”  It doesn’t mean it’s deleted, just that it’s hidden from everyone else to see. 

 

How to Unarchive Posts on Instagram

If you decide you want that one post back on your profile, you’re able to unarchive posts as well. Just follow these steps: 

  • Open the Instagram app. 
  • Click on your profile icon in the bottom right-hand corner. 
  • Tap the three horizontal lines in the top right-hand corner. 
  • Click “Archive.”
  • Tap the drop-down menu bar at the top of the screen and press “Posts archive.”
  • Find the post you want to unarchive, and click on it.
  • Tap the three dots in the top right-hand corner. 
  • Hit “Show on profile.”

IG Archive

IG Archive

 

This post will now appear back on your profile for all of your followers to see once again. 

 

How to See Archived Posts on Instagram

If you want access to all of your archived posts on Instagram, you’ll follow the same steps as before. 

  • Open the Instagram app. 
  • Click on your profile icon in the bottom right-hand corner. 
  • Tap the three horizontal lines in the top right-hand corner. 
  • Click “Archive.”
  • Tap the drop-down menu bar at the top of the screen and press “Posts archive.”

IG Archive

IG Archive

 

IG Archive

Remember that only you can see all of your archived posts.

 

Should you archive or delete Instagram posts?

Whether you want to archive your latest Instagram post or delete it forever is totally up to you. If you’re an indecisive person that might end up regretting your decision of deleting the post, then try archiving it instead. 

There isn’t any set formula for whether you should archive or delete your posts. It won’t have any real impact on your account. Chances are your followers won’t even notice that you archive or delete the post anyway. 

 

Conclusion

You’ll notice under the archive tab on your profile that you can also see your Stories archive and your Live archive. After your Story stays on your page for 24 hours, it will automatically save to the archive, so you don’t have to worry about having to go back and save every one of them. 

After you’re done recording your Live Video, it will also save to the archive. Instagram will ask if you want to view it in your archive as soon as you end it, so try it out to see it firsthand. 

It’s no secret that once you put something out on the internet it’s there forever. Instagram is a great example of this because it keeps everything once you post it. It stays there until you officially hit that “delete” button, but even then is it really gone?

Take what you’ve learned from this blog post and explore Instagram’s archive feature by getting rid of those posts on your profile that just aren’t fitting in with your aesthetic anymore. 

Pin It on Pinterest