We’ve all been there: whether it’s an ex constantly checking your Instagram, a friend you’ve had a falling out with, or that one weird aunt who’s all over your pictures, we’ve all had to block someone. Whatever your reason may be for wanting to block someone, we’ll walk you through the steps and go over what actually happens when you block a follower on Instagram.
How To Block on Instagram
The process of blocking a follower on Instagram is easy. If you’re resolved in your decision to cut online ties with someone, just follow these steps:
- Go to the profile of the user you want to block.
- Click the three dots in the top right corner of your screen.
- Click “Block”.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Instagram?
When you block someone on Instagram, they can no longer see your posts, Instagram stories, nor can they direct message you. They will not be able to find your Instagram page if they search your username. If they do find your profile (maybe through a mutual follower) your profile will appear totally blank.
Instagram does not send a notification when you block someone, so they won’t know you blocked them unless they search for your page and find that they can no longer access it. If you later unblock someone, you won’t be following each other and you’ll have to re-follow their account, which could alert them to the fact that they were previously blocked.
Who Blocked Me on Instagram?
It’s both a blessing and a curse that Instagram doesn’t send notifications when someone is blocked. It’s great when you’re the one hitting the block button, but on the flip side, it would be nice to know who blocked you.
If you want to find out who blocked you, there are a few ways to tell:
Ask them: This option could get pretty awkward, but it is the most direct way to know if someone has blocked you, and you could also get an explanation. Then again, if they blocked you there is a chance they won’t answer you, or you may not have another means to get in touch other than Instagram.
Download an Instagram follower tracker app: Some apps that track your followers will also allow you to see who has blocked you. Many free follower apps have in-app purchases for this feature, so you may have to pay a few dollars to check.
Search for their username: If their username doesn’t come up when you search for it, it’s possible that you’ve been blocked. To confirm, try searching through a mutual friend’s following list if you know that the two would probably follow one another. You may be able to find their name here, but if you’ve been blocked their profile will appear blank when you click their name. If their number of posts looks normal but none of their posts are visible, you’ve been blocked.
How To Mute Someone on Instagram
Do you feel uncomfortable fully blocking someone on Instagram? If you’re sick of seeing their posts but don’t mind them seeing yours (and potentially liking and commenting on them) you can always mute them instead.
Muting a follower on Instagram hides their posts from your feed so that you don’t have to see them. Instagram does not notify someone when you mute them, and you will still appear on their followers list. They can still see and engage with your posts, so if you’re feeling harassed by someone, muting them probably won’t help. You can mute and unmute followers without them realizing.
To mute that annoying person that you can’t block without fallout, follow these simple steps:
- Go to their profile or one of their posts.
- Click the three dots at the top right corner.
- Click “Mute”.
- Choose to mute their posts, stories, or both.
To unmute someone, simply go to their profile and click the “Unmute” button that appears under their Instagram bio.