Sometimes you change your mind about the world being able to see the content you create after posting it. That is why the delete button was invented, right?

TikTok is no different. If you ever create a video that you decide you don’t want anyone to be able to see anymore, the option to get rid of it from your page completely is available. 

We’ll go through what you need to know about how to delete your TikTok videos, along with some other tips and tricks you might find helpful. 

 

How to Delete TikTok Video 

After you record, edit, and post a TikTok video, the option to delete it will immediately be available to you. The process to delete your video off of your page is pretty simple because it works at the click of a button. 

Here’s how to get started on deleting your first video or two:

  • Open the TikTok app.
  • Go to your profile by tapping the “Profile” icon at the bottom right-hand corner of the screen. 
  • Find the video you want to delete from your page and click on it. 
  • Click on the three dots on the right-hand side of the screen.
  • On the third column of the menu bar that pops up, scroll to the left until you see the “Delete” icon which is labeled with a garbage can. 
  • When the box asking “Are you sure you want to delete?” appears, click on “Delete” and the video will no longer appear on your page. 

 

TikTok Profile

TikTok Pin

TikTok Delete

 

How to Make Videos Private on TikTok

If you don’t want to go as far as deleting a TikTok permanently, an option to hide it for only you to see is available. Changing the settings on the video to say “Only me” ensures that your video won’t be seen by any who comes across your page. 

Here’s how to get started on making a video private:

  • Open the TikTok app.
  • Go to your profile by tapping the “Profile” icon at the bottom right-hand corner of the screen. 
  • Find the video you want to delete from your page and click on it. 
  • Click on the three dots on the right-hand side of the screen. 
  • On the third column of the menu bar that pops up, scroll to the left until you see “Privacy settings,” or the icon that has a lock on it. 
  • Click on “Who can watch this video” and change the settings to say “Only me.”

TikTok Profile

TikTok Pin

TikTok Privacy Settings

After you make your video private for only you to see, the TikTok will go into a different folder that’s presented on your profile. If you want to view the TikToks you hid, then click on the lock button just below the “Edit Profile” button on your page. 

 

Should I Delete a TikTok or Make it Private?

Whether you want to get rid of a TikTok permanently or to just take it off of your page so no one can see it is up to you. Most people will delete a video because the content isn’t what they want to be shown on their profile, it didn’t do as well as they had hoped in terms of engagement, or they just don’t have a need for the video to exist anymore.

tiktok trends

The same goes for those who rather make their TikToks private instead. If you just want to temporarily remove the video from your profile, but not totally get rid of it forever in case you want to go back to it, then adjust the privacy settings so only you can see it. 

 

Can you delete all TikTok Videos at once?

Unfortunately, TikTok doesn’t offer the option to users to delete all TikTok videos at once. The only way to successfully get rid of your TikTok videos is to repeat the steps of the options above for all of the videos you want to delete. 

If you’re looking for a different option to get rid of your TikToks, then another option would be able to deactivate your TikTok account. TikTok’s rule for deleting accounts is that it remains permanent after 30 days. So, once that 30 days is up, you will no longer have access to the account. But, if you decide you might want the account still, then just simply log in to reactivate it. 

 

Can you recover TikTok videos after you delete them?

Unless you saved your TikTok videos to your device prior to deleting them, there is no known way for users to recover TikTok videos after deleting them. To avoid losing your TikTok videos forever, save each of them to your device in case you accidentally delete one.

This is a good habit to get into so you don’t lose your content forever by accidentally deleting them!

 

Conclusion 

Like most social media apps, a delete button is always present. Whether you use it every time you post something, or once in a while, it’s good to know that the option is still there. 

After reading this blog post, go through your profile and see if there are any videos you might want to get rid of or hide so only you can see them. 

Pin It on Pinterest