If you’ve been friends with someone on Facebook for a long time, sometimes it gets to a point you need a break from their content. Facebook offers users the option to unfriend, block, or hide posts. 

If this sounds like something you might be interested in trying, then continue reading to find out how to get started.

 

How to Unfriend Someone on Facebook

If you’re sick of seeing someone’s constant posts about their pet cat or favorite sports team, then you’ll probably want to get rid of them as your friend as a whole. Facebook offers you the option to unfriend someone so you won’t have to deal with those posts anymore. Nice, right?

What’s even better about it is the person you’re unfriending won’t be notified, so you can get away with it in secret. 

To get started on unfriending someone, just follow these steps:

  • Open the Facebook app. 
  • Find the profile of the user who you want to unfriend by either clicking on their profile or searching for their name. 
  • Click on the “Friends” button that is to the left of the blue message button.
  • Tap on “Unfriend” then “Confirm.”

 

How to Hide a Post on Facebook 

If you come across a post that you just can’t stand to look at for another second, but still want to remain friends on Facebook with the person who shared it, then you’re able to hide the post from your timeline.

The process is simple and easy, just follow these steps:

  • Find the post you want to hide from your timeline. 
  • Click on the three dots in the top right-hand corner of the post. 
  • Click on “Hide post” if you just want that specific post to go away or click “Snooze __ for 30 days” if you don’t want to see any more of their content for another month. 
  • There is also the option to unfollow someone on Facebook, which is different than unfriending them. If you click on the “Unfollow ___” button, you’ll stop seeing their posts, but you’ll still remain friends. 

Facebook Menu

Facebook Options

 

 

How to Block Someone on Facebook

If you’ve just about had it with someone on Facebook, blocking them is the next option. This means you won’t see anything that they post and they won’t be able to see anything that you post. 

So, if you feel like it’s time to get rid of that one person that’s really been grinding your gears, follow these steps:

  • Open the Facebook app.
  • Search for the user you want to block.
  • Click on their profile.
  • Click the three dots next to the blue “Message” button. 
  • Click “Block.”

 

How to Friend Someone on Facebook

Not everything has to be so bad when it comes to friends on Facebook. If you find yourself wanting to do the opposite of the main point in this blog post and want to friend someone instead, here’s how:

  • Open the Facebook app.
  • Search for the user you want to send a friend request to.
  • Click on their profile.
  • Click on the blue “Add Friend” button which will then send a friend request.

Facebook Add FriendOnly after the other user accepts your friend request will you be considered friends on Facebook. You won’t be able to see anything they post before then. 

 

Conclusion

It’s normal to want your space from other users on social media. Using some of these tips can be helpful for the next interaction that you might find irritating. So, next time you’re scrolling and can’t help but have a different opinion than one of your friends, stop and ask yourself if it’s something you want to unfriend, block, or hide their posts over. 

Pin It on Pinterest