You may be familiar with Vanish Mode from Facebook Messenger when it launched in 2020, but it’s also been added to Instagram’s messaging system since then. 

It’s a simple, yet effective way to take control of your chat settings. To learn more about Vanish Mode on Instagram, continue reading this blog post as we’ll go through everything you need to know, along with some other tips and tricks you might find helpful. 

 

What is Vanish Mode on Instagram?

To put it simply, Vanish Mode on Instagram lets you have a chat that automatically deletes once it ends. You’re only allowed to use Vanish Mode in one-on-one chats with other people, so that means it doesn’t work for any group chats you might have. 

If you’re familiar with Snapchat’s self-erasing messages feature, this is basically the same as that, just on Instagram. This also means that if you screenshot the chat in Vanish Mode, the other person is automatically notified – so be careful!

Take a Pic

You’ll also want to note that Vanish Mode is also only available to users who follow each other within the app. It’s Instagram’s way of preventing any unsolicited messages from strangers. 

Let’s get into how to actually use Vanish Mode on Instagram so you can get started. 

 

How to Use Vanish Mode on Instagram 

Turning on Vanish Mode is pretty simple, you’ll just have to make sure a few things are in order before you start. 

Again, you’ll only be able to use Vanish Mode if both you and the person you are messaging follow one another, so make sure of this before!

After you check on this, follow these steps to begin turning on Vanish Mode: 

  • Open the Instagram app if you haven’t already. 
  • Navigate to your messages tab by clicking on the chat icon at the top right-hand corner of the screen.
  • Open a chat window you already have started or create a new one by clicking on the pencil icon at the top right-hand corner of the screen. 
  • Once you are in the chat, swipe up from the bottom of the screen and release for Vanish Mode. 

IG Messages

 

Vanish Mode

You’ll notice your screen turn black and emojis will appear. This means you are now currently in Vanish Mode which indicates that seen messages will disappear after you close out of the chat. 

Some other things that come along with using Vanish Mode are being able to change the theme and editing notifications right from the chat. 

  • Click on the user’s name that you are chatting with at the top of the screen. 
  • Under Chat settings, pick a theme or turn off Vanish mode from there. 
  • Under Notifications, mute any future messages from this user you might receive. 
  • Under More actions, click on “Something isn’t working” if you’re having trouble with this feature. 
  • Under Members, restrict, report, or block the user you’re chatting with. 

Vanish Mode Details

 

How to Turn off Vanish Mode on Instagram

You can turn off Vanish Mode in two different ways on Instagram. Both are easy, so it’s up to you which path you want to take. 

  • Open the chat with whom you have Vanish Mode turned on.
  • Swipe up from the bottom of your screen (exactly how you did to turn it on) and release it until you see your screen turn white.

Turn Vanish Mode Off

OR

  • Open the chat with whom you have Vanish Mode turned on.
  • Click their name at the top of the screen. 
  • Toggle the “Vanish mode” button off. 

Vanish Mode Off Button

 

Conclusion

If you’re someone who likes to take extra safety precautions to ensure no one can look through your chats, then Vanish Mode might be perfect for you. 

Before you decide on whether you want to turn Vanish Mode on, you’ll want to remember a few things.

  • If you turn on Vanish Mode, the recipient will be notified and it will be turned on for both of you.
  • You can only use Vanish Mode if you and the user you’re messaging follow each other.
  • Vanish Mode does not work for group chats, only one-on-one chats.
  • Both you and the recipient will be notified if a screenshot takes place.

 

Pin It on Pinterest