Sometimes we create TikToks that just aren’t ready to be put out into the world for everyone to see, and that’s okay! That’s what drafts are for, right? Instead of getting rid of the video forever, we’ll explain how you can save your TikToks for later on in case you change your mind. 

 

How to Save Drafts on TikTok

Let’s say you film and edit a TikTok then decide you don’t want to post it. Now what? TikTok offers a “Drafts” feature, like a lot of other social media networks, that allows you to save your content for future use. Instead of deleting your latest masterpiece, save it to your drafts. Here’s how:

  • Open the TikTok app. 
  • Click the “+” at the bottom of the screen. 
  • Film your video, then edit it how you want. 
  • Click “Next” and add a caption (optional).
  • Click the “Drafts” button at the bottom left-hand corner of the screen. 

TIkTok +

TikTok Next

TikTok Drafts

Your video will then automatically be saved to your drafts. 

 

How to Edit TikTok Draft

If you decide you want to give that video you stuck in your drafts another shot, you can go back and edit it whenever you want. The best part is they’re all stored in the same place on your profile, here’s where to look:

  • Open the TikTok app. 
  • Click your profile in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen.
  • On the left-hand side of the screen on your page, click on “Drafts.”
  • Click on the video you want to edit.
  • Add more text, stickers, effects, filters, etc. 
  • After you’ve finished editing, click “Next.”
  • You can then put the video back into your drafts by clicking the “Drafts” button, or posting it by clicking “Post.”

TikTok Profile

TikTok Draft

 

TikTok Drafts:Post

 

How to Save TikTok Draft to Camera Roll

Although there isn’t an actual button on TikTok you can hit to save your drafts to your camera roll, there still is a way you can save them. 

  • Open the TikTok app.
  • Click on your profile in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen. 
  • Click on “Drafts.”
  • Click on the video you want to be saved to your camera roll. 
  • Click “Next.”
  • Click “Who can watch this video,” then click “Only me.”
  • Then tap on “More Options,” and click “Save to device” to ensure your video will be saved after you post.
  • Click the “X” button in the top left-hand corner to exit that screen.
  • Then tap “Post.”

TikTok Profile

TikTok Draft

TikTok Next

TikTok Watch Settings

TikTok Only Me

TikTok More Options

TikTok Save to Device

TikTok Post

After you hit the post, you’ll notice the video appear in your camera roll. Since it will still be posted on your TikTok, it’s up to you whether you want to keep it or not even though you are the only one that can see it. 

If you decide you only want the video in your camera roll and not on your “Only me” TikTok page, follow these steps to delete it:

  • Open the TikTok app.
  • Click on your profile in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen. 
  • Click on the lock icon.
  • Tap the video you want to delete.
  • Tap the three dots at the bottom right-hand corner of the screen. 
  • Scroll to the left until you see “Delete,” then click it. 

TikTok ProfileTikTok Lock

TikTok Menu

TikTok Delete 

How to Delete TikTok Draft

If you feel like you want to get rid of a TikTok draft, whether it’s of no use to you anymore or because you created something better, there is an option to mass delete your TikTok drafts.

To get started, follow these steps:

  • Open the TikTok app. 
  • Click your profile in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen.
  • On the left-hand side of the screen on your page, click on “Drafts.”
  • Tap “Select” at the top right-hand corner of the screen.
  • Click on the drafts you want to delete.
  • Click “Delete” at the bottom of your screen. 

TikTok Profile

TikTok Draft

TikTok Draft Select

TikTok Draft Delete

 

Conclusion

Like a bunch of other things in life, drafts on TikTok are there for users who might be second-guessing their decisions. Whether you want to see if you can make a better video or just wait for another day to post it, putting your videos into your TikTok drafts is always a better option than deleting them forever!

Another important thing you might want to note before you explore TikTok drafts is that if you uninstall the app, it will automatically discard all of your drafts. This is a helpful thing to keep in the back of your mind so you don’t lose your creative work!

Pin It on Pinterest