If at point you end up having a change of heart, you can go about unblocking someone on Instagram in two different ways. The good news is that the other user won’t be notified that you unblocked them, that is unless they saw you blocked them before then.

We’ll explain the different ways to block, unblock, or mute someone on Instagram. So, if this is something you might be interested in finding out how to do, then continue reading!

 

How to Unblock Someone on Instagram 

Of course, if you’re wondering how to unblock someone on Instagram, then chances are you already know how to block them. But for those that don’t, we’ll run through it quickly so we can all be on the same page. 

You can block someone in one of two ways, which will be the same as you can do when you want to unblock them as well. 

  • Open the Instagram app. 
  • Look up the user you want to block on the search page. 
  • Go to their profile.
  • Click the three dots in the upper right-hand corner. 
  • Press “Block.” 

 

OR

  • Open the Instagram app.
  • Click on your profile icon in the bottom right-hand corner. 
  • Click the three horizontal line menu bar in the top right-hand corner. 
  • Click “Settings.”
  • Click “Privacy.”
  • Scroll down to “Blocked accounts” and click on it. 
  • Click the “+” in the top right-hand corner. 
  • Search for the user you want to block and click “Block.”

IG Delete

 You’ll probably notice that the first way is a lot less complicated than the second, but if you choose to block someone that way, the result will still be the same and the user will be blocked. 

 

Now, we’ll explain how to reverse that decision and unblock a user. You’ll basically repeat the same process as above.

  • Open the Instagram app. 
  • Look up the user you want to unblock on the search page. 
  • Go to their profile.
  • Click the three dots in the upper right-hand corner and press “Unblock” or just hit the blue “Unblock” button that you see in the middle of their profile. 

IG Unblock

The second way is just about the same as before. 

  • Open the Instagram app.
  • Click on your profile icon in the bottom right-hand corner. 
  • Click the three horizontal line menu bar in the top right-hand corner. 
  • Click “Settings.”
  • Click “Privacy.”
  • Scroll down to “Blocked accounts” and click on it. 
  • Find the user you want to unblock and hit the blue “Unblock” button. 

IG Delete

IG Unblock

 

How to See a List of Blocked Accounts on Instagram 

The nice thing about Instagram is it doesn’t leave you wondering who you have blocked. Instead, they provide you with a list of everyone you have blocked in the past. To see this list, you’ll get there the same way you did before by blocking or unblocking someone through your settings. 

  • Open the Instagram app.
  • Click on your profile icon in the bottom right-hand corner. 
  • Click the three horizontal line menu bar in the top right-hand corner. 
  • Click “Settings.”
  • Click “Privacy.”
  • Scroll down to “Blocked accounts” and click on it. 

IG Delete Here you’ll see the list of all of the accounts you currently have blocked. If you see someone you want to unblock as you scroll through, just click the blue “Unblock” button. 

 

What happens when you block or unblock someone on Instagram?

When you block someone on Instagram, they won’t be able to do a couple of things when it comes to your profile. 

Users won’t be able to:

  • view your profile, Posts, Stories, or Reels.
  • refollow you. 
  • find you using the search tool.
  • send you any direct messages. 

If you unblock someone, these restrictions will go away, they’ll just have to follow you again to be able to have access to your content again. 

 

How to Mute Someone on Instagram 

If you don’t want to go as far as blocking someone on Instagram, no worries. Instagram offers a “Mute” feature that allows you to still follow someone, but not see any of the content that they post. 

If you want to get rid of that one user’s posts and Stories from your feed but don’t want to get rid of them in your followers list, then try muting them instead. Here’s how:

  • Open the Instagram app. 
  • Click the magnifying glass on the bottom of your screen.
  • Search for the user who you want to mute and click on their profile. 
  • Click on where it says “Following” and a drop-down will appear. 
  • Click on “Mute.”
  • Use the toggle button to mute their Posts and/or Stories.
  • Click the back arrow and that’s it!

IG Mute Posts

IG Mute Posts

IG Mute Posts IG Mute Posts

For more information, tips, and tricks on muting users on Instagram, click this link

 

How to Unmute Someone on Instagram

 If you end up wanting to unmute someone so you can see their content again, that works too. Here’s how:

  • Open the Instagram app. 
  • Click the magnifying glass on the bottom of your screen.
  • Search for the user who you want to mute and click on their profile. 
  • Click on where it says “Following” and a drop-down will appear. 
  • Click on “Mute.”
  • Use the toggle button to unmute their Posts and/or Stories.
  • Click the back arrow and that’s it!

IG Mute Posts IG Mute Posts

For more information, tips, and tricks on muting users on Instagram, click this link

 

Conclusion

Whether it’s a spam account that won’t stop sending you direct messages or just an old friend that you aren’t on the best of terms with anymore, blocking someone on Instagram is just another one of those tools that come in handy sooner or later.

Next time you feel like you want to get rid of someone’s content from constantly popping up on your feed, try blocking them, or if you don’t want to take it that far, then try muting them instead. It will surely leave the result of your social media experience to be a little more peaceful. 

Pin It on Pinterest