If you want to post content that only a select few of your friends on Snapchat can see, then creating a private story might be the answer you were looking for. 

We’ll explain how to create a private story on Snapchat, along with some other tips and tricks you might find helpful. 

 

How to Make a Private Story on Snapchat 

Private stories on Snapchat are a way for you to post content that only specific people you hand-pick can see. Whether you want to add 2 people or 20 is totally up to you. 

Here are the steps you have to follow to get started:

  • Open the Snapchat app. 
  • Click on your Bitmoji (if you have one created), or profile icon in the top left-hand corner of the screen. 
  • Under the tab “My Stories,” click on the “+ New Story” button on the right-hand side of the screen. 
  • Select whether you want to make a private story, where only specific friends will be able to see it, or a shared story where friends can view, post, and add other members. 
  • Select the friends you want to add to your private story and click “Create Story.”
  • Give your story a name and click “Done.”

Snapchat Bitmoji

Snapchat New Story

Snapchat Story Type

Snapchat Story Name

 

How to Post to Private Story 

After creating your private story, you’ll probably want to add a Snap to it. To get started, follow these steps:

  • Open the Snapchat app. 
  • Take a Snap that you want to add to your private story.
  • Tap on the “Send To” button at the bottom of your screen. 
  • At the top of the screen, click on the private story you want to add the Snap to. 

Snapchat Post

Snapchat Add

 

How to Add or Remove Viewers in Private Story 

If you decide you want to add or remove some viewers from your private story, that works too. 

Follow these steps to add or remove viewers from your private story:

  • Open the Snapchat app. 
  • Click on your Bitmoji (if you have one created), or profile icon in the top left-hand corner of the screen. 
  • Click the three dots next to the private story you want to add or remove friends from. 
  • Click “Edit Viewers.”
  • Select or deselect the friends you want to add/remove from the story.
  • Click “Save.”

Snapchat Bitmoji

 

How to Delete Private Story 

If you decide you don’t want a private story anymore, the option to delete it is easily accessible. Follow these steps to get started:

  • Open the Snapchat app. 
  • Click on your Bitmoji (if you have one created), or profile icon in the top left-hand corner of the screen. 
  • Click the three dots next to the private story you want to delete.
  • Click on “Delete Private Story” then “Delete.”

Snapchat Bitmoji

Snapchat Dot Menu

Snapchat Delete Story

 

Conclusion

Private stories seem to have taken over Snapchat for the younger generations. To some, regular Snap stories might be their main form of communication with friends still, and that’s ok!

Take what you’ve learned from this blog post and decide if you want to create a private story so you can post content to only a select few of your friends!

Pin It on Pinterest