Ever since the launch of Snapchat Memories in 2016, they have been one of the app’s strongest features. This blog post will teach you all there is to know about Snapchat Memories, along with some other tips you might find helpful later on. 

Snapchat Selfie

Although Snapchat might not be listed in the top five most popular apps nowadays, younger generations seem to be the ones still favoring it. If you’re the kind of person that’s just keeping the app because of your Snapchat Memories – we get it. 

Whether you’re someone who wants to finally part with the app or someone who still uses the app daily, we’ll go through some tips you might find useful. 

 

What are Snapchat Memories?

Snapchat Memories are Snapchats and Snapchat Stories that you’re able to save for later on. It’s essentially a camera roll in the app, but for your Snaps. You can view, edit, send, save, or post your Memories whenever you feel like it – all you have to do is swipe up. 

Snapchat Memories

Many individuals find Snapchat Memories helpful because you’re able to access them whenever and use them as you please. For those that use Snapchat as a marketing tool for your business, this feature is a simple way to select some of your past Snaps and use them again to help grow your business on social media. 

We’ll go through everything you need to know about Snapchat Memories, along with some other features that you might run into along the way. 

 

How to See Snapchat Memories 

The process of finding your Snapchat Memories is super simple. Two ways can get you to your destination, so we’ll let you decide which one you want to use. 

Here’s the first option to use:

  • Open the Snapchat app. 
  • Go to the Snapchat camera.
  • Use your finger to swipe up on the screen.

Here’s the second option to use:

  • Open the Snapchat app. 
  • Go to the Snapchat camera.
  • Tap the two rectangle boxes to the left of the big Snapchat button.

Snapchat Memories

And that’s it! Easy right?

Whether you used the first or second option, the screen you’re on is where all of your Memories will be displayed. Your oldest Snapchats will be on the bottom and your most recent Snapchats will be at the top. 

 

What are Flashback Memories on Snapchat?

You’ll notice when you’re in the Memories section on Snapchat there are a few tabs and things going on at the top. You’ll sometimes see a “Flashback Memory” at the top. In other words, this is Snapchat’s way of reminding you of the Snaps you took on the exact date on which you’re looking at them.

So, if today is June 20, 2022, Snapchat will show you Flashback Memories from June 20, 2021, June 20, 2020, June 20, 2019, and so on. You get the idea, right?

If you don’t feel like being reminded of what was going on in your life a year ago today, just hold in the Flashback Memory and click “Dismiss Story.” It won’t delete it from your Memories, it’ll just remove it from being right at the top. 

 

What are My Eyes Only on Snapchat?

Still going along with the tabs that appear at the top of the screen when you’re on your Memories, you’ll see a “My Eyes Only” tab. If you’re wondering what it is, it’s exactly what it sounds like. It’s a private album you can add Snaps to that only you want to see. 

Snapchat My Eyes Only

The first time you add Snaps to My Eyes Only, you’ll be asked to provide a 4-digit passcode. If you forget your password or want to change it, click the “Options” button in the bottom right-hand corner. 

Even if you don’t add your Snaps to your My Eyes Only, it doesn’t mean anyone else can see your Snaps. It’s just an added feature that you can use to protect your Snaps even more. 

 

How to Save Snapchat Memories

Sometimes when you take a Snap, you want to save it for later on. You’ll want to make sure you do this before sending it to your friends because the only way you’ll get it back is if you ask them to screenshot it. 

Again, this process is pretty simple. Here’s how to do it:

  • Open the Snapchat app.
  • Go to the Snapchat camera.
  • Take a Snap. 
  • Click the “Save” button in the bottom left-hand corner. 

Snapchat Save

This will save your Snap to your Memories!

If you want to take it a step further and save the Snap to your camera roll, do this:

  • Open the Snapchat app.
  • Swipe up or tap the rectangle boxes to the left of the camera button to open your Memories.
  • Tap on the Snap you want to save to your camera roll.
  • Hold the Snap in and a menu bar will appear.
  • Click on “Export Snap,” then scroll to the left until you see “Download.”

Snapchat Save

Snapchat Save

Once a blue bar appears at the top of the screen that says “Saved,” your snap is successfully saved to your camera roll. 

 

How to Automatically Save Snaps and Stories to Memories

If you want to play around with your Snapchat Memories settings to automatically save your Snaps, just follow these steps. 

  • Open the Snapchat app.
  • Click on your Bitmoji (if you have one created) in the top left-hand corner.
  • Click on the settings icon in the top right-hand corner. 
  • Tap “Memories.”
  • Under “Save Destinations,” choose your settings.

Snapchat Memories

Snapchat Memories

Snapchat Memories

Snapchat Memories

Snapchat allows you to pick where your Snaps go once you save them. You can either pick Memories, Memories and Camera Roll, or just Camera Roll. Some people don’t like to use Memories and would rather just use their Camera Roll instead – which is totally fine because it’s entirely up to you. 

Snapchat also lets you pick whether or not you want your Snaps to automatically save after posting a Snap to My Story. It also lets you pick if you want anything saved to your Memories to go directly into your My Eyes Only. 

Unfortunately, Snapchat doesn’t automatically save every Snap you take once you take it. You’ll have to click on the “Save” button in the bottom left-hand corner every time you take a Snap if you want to save it for later on. 

 

How to Select Multiple Snaps in Memories

If you don’t feel like going through and saving, sending, or deleting each Snap individually, Snapchat has a feature that lets you select more than one Snap at once. 

Here’s how to use it:

  • Open the Snapchat app. 
  • Swipe up or tap the rectangle boxes to the left of the camera button to open your Memories.
  • Click the checkmark icon in the top right-hand corner. 
  • Select the Memories you want.
  • Choose whether you want to create a Story out of them, delete them, or export them. Snapchat also has a “More” button that you can use if you want to send those Snaps into My Eyes Only, add them as Favorite Snaps, or add them to your Story.

Snapchat Memories

 

 

How to Recover Deleted Snapchat Memories

Accidentally delete a Snap you meant to save or send? No worries. There’s still a possibility that Snapchat still has your Memory in their data archive.

Here’s how to recover those Memories:

  • Open the Snapchat app.
  • Click on your Bitmoji (if you have one created) in the top left-hand corner. 
  • Click the settings icon in the top right-hand corner. 
  • Scroll down to “My Data.”
  • Log in to Snapchat with your account info.
  • Select “My Data,” then scroll down to confirm your email address to submit a request. 
  • You’ll get a notification once Snapchat has received your request and another one with the link to download your Snapchat Memories data.

Snapchat Memories

Snapchat Memories

Snapchat Memories

Snapchat Memories

 

Conclusion 

Now that you’re an expert on Snapchat Memories, you can probably save and send them blindfolded. Use the information from this blog post and try out the Snapchat Memories feature if you haven’t already. 

So, what are you waiting for? Go save, send, or post some Snaps! 

 

Pin It on Pinterest